Excellence in Leadership Awards

2018-19 SLAB Student of the YearThe Individual Excellence in Leadership Awards (ELAs) recognize students, faculty, and staff who have significantly contributed to improving the quality of student life and involvement during the past academic year at Columbia College.

Nominees will have demonstrated values for creativity, community engagement, leadership, stewardship, collaboration, to create a more engaged, connected, and inclusive community.

Individual Award Categories:

SOLO Leader Award 

This award is presented to a student worker within the Student Organizations and Leadership Office (that includes the Student Athletic Association, Student Government Association, Student Programming Board, and Student Organization Council). This member is a critical component to their respective organization. They went beyond their best ability not only to benefit their own organization but the office and campus as a whole. 


Unsung Hero Award 

This award is presented to a student who does not have a formal leadership position within their student organization or athletic team but embodies the mission of their group. They exhibit exceptional dedication, leadership qualities, and spirit that is essential to the group. 


Senator of the Year 

This award is presented to a student government senator who surpassed their required senator duties in SGA. They provided outstanding service to their respective area and demonstrated steadfast commitment to better the Columbia College Chicago community. 


Advisor of the Year 

This award is presented to a faculty or staff member who serves as a coach or student organization advisor and has gone above their responsibilities for the support of the group and its members. This advisor has shown immense commitment and enthusiasm for the group, has developed a strong working relationship with the group’s members, serves as a role model, and is attentive to the issues and needs of the group. 


Captain of the Year 

This award is presented to a student captain who exemplified exceptional commitment, lead their team with integrity, and embodies the Renegades’ spirit. They provided extraordinary contributions to their team beyond what is required for the role. 


Student Organization Leader of the Year                                      

This award is presented to a student on a student organization executive board who demonstrated excellent leadership skills and consistently worked to have a positive influence in the organization. They provided remarkable contributions to the organization beyond the duties of their title. 


Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award 

Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is an active and ongoing process. This award recognizes a student who shows a deep understanding of and continued dedication to these values as described by Columbia College Chicago. They have demonstrated and active commitment to engaging the campus in important dialogue around issues of power, privilege, and oppression, and have helped to foster a positive and inclusive environment on campus. 


Wellness Award

This award recognizes a student who has provided ongoing and exceptional contributions towards wellness programming and initiatives. This student has promoted a positive culture of self-care and reflection on campus through their efforts, and both demonstrate and encourage responsible and healthy practices for their peers. 


2018-19 Student of the Year- Isaiah Moore
Nominations must be submitted by end of day on Wednesday, April 5th via the application form below:
Nominate a student, staff, or faculty member for an Individual Award here.